Sunday - March 28,  2021 | 3:00 pm

SBSOTV Episode 2: Tchaikovsky, Vivaldi, & Grieg

Tchaikovsky and Grieg penned two of the most compelling  and deeply expressive works for string orchestra; Tchaikovsky's Serenade in C Major and Grieg's Holberg Suite, respectively. 
We will perform excerpts from both of these incredible works.

Antonio Vivaldi wrote nearly forty concerti for the bassoon. The Concerto in D minor is Maestro Parnther's personal favorite. 

Join us as our Music Director tackles dual roles as soloist and conductor on this dazzling work for solo bassoon and orchestra.

We are excited to present our March concert from Bandrika Studios, owned and operated by composer Nathan Barr. This world class studio is constructed around the 1928 Barr/Fox Wurlitzer Theater Organ, which lived on the famed Newman Scoring Stage at Fox Studios from 1928 to 1998. It can be heard in dozens of classic film scores including The Sound of Music, The Day the Earth Stood Still, The Witches of Eastwick, and Journey to the Center of the Earth.

With 1,366 pipes and a plethora of real percussion instruments, this organ truly must be heard to be believed. Years after the organ was removed from Fox in 1998, Barr purchased it from Ken Crome of The Crome Organ Company in Reno, Nevada, and thus began a 4 year restoration by Crome’s team. Since Bandrika’s opening in May 2018, the Barr/Fox Wurlitzer has re-entered the world of film music, and can be heard extensively in Barr's score for Amblin/Universal's The House With a Clock In Its Walls and also in Danny Elfman's score for Universal's hit adaptation of The Grinch (2018).

We will feature this magnificent instrument on a couple of works in this program, including the Albinoni Adagio, and a solo work that will use every feature on the instrument.



Edvard Grieg  |  Holberg Suite 

          I. Prelude


Tomaso Albinoni/ Remo Giazotto | Adagio for Strings and Organ in D Minor

Antonio Vivaldi  |  Concerto for Bassoon in D minor

          I. Allegro

          II. Larghetto

          III. Allegro Molto

                    Anthony Parnther, Bassoon 

Piotr Illych Tchaikovsky  |  Serenade for Strings, Op. 48 in C Major         

          I. Pezzo in forma di Sonatina (Piece in the form of a sonata)


Anthony Parnther, Bassoon

San Bernardino Symphony Orchestra


_Support Your Orchestra_ 300.png



(909) 381-5388

Office Address
536 W. 11th Street Suite 1 | San Bernardino, CA 92410


Mailing Address
PO Box 109  |  San Bernardino, CA  92402

Office Hours
Monday through Friday - 10:00 am to 2:00 pm

COPYRIGHT © 2011-2021 San Bernardino Symphony 
The San Bernardino Symphony is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization | EIN: 95-6153923

  • Facebook Clean Grey